Updated News Around the World

India will aim for gold at CWG, not just a podium finish: Smriti Mandhana

India is not just aiming for a podium finish but will try to win the gold medal in the Commonwealth Games (CWG), Indian women cricket team vice-captain Smriti Mandhana said before the start of the multinational games. The Commonwealth Games are starting July 29 in .

Cricket is returning to CWG after a span of 24 years, with the first women’s tournament to be played out at the multi-sport event. Eight sides will take part across 16 matches at Edgbaston, with a winner crowned and all the medals finalised on August 7.

India are in Group A along with Australia, Barbados and Pakistan, while Group B has hosts England, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

India will play their opening game against Australia on July 29. India will play arch-rivals Pakistan on July 31.

“All the girls are really excited and we all know the feeling. We have all watched the Commonwealth and Olympic Games… that when the Indian flag goes up and we hear the national anthem, I think everyone knows that feeling and definitely we are aiming for gold,” said Mandhana in a video posted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

“I don’t think we’ll just look for a podium finish because when that flag goes higher and the national anthem plays, that’s the best feeling. I literally get goose-bumps when I think about (javelin star) Neeraj Chopra winning gold in the (2020 Tokyo) Olympics,” added Mandhana.

“So, definitely you know we have an opportunity to be there and try and do that, of course not in the Olympics but at the Commonwealth Games. So we all are really excited and we know the groups (opponents). The groups were decided long back so we have our plans in place for Australia, Pakistan and Barbados. Hopefully, things work the way we have planned,” she added.

Cricket has featured only once before at the Commonwealth Games — as a 16-team tournament on the men’s side — at the Kuala Lumpur Games, back in 1998.

South Africa claimed gold by beating Australia in the final, chasing down a target of 184 after Shaun Pollock’s 4/19 (9 overs). Mike Rindel top-scored with 67 (106 balls), with Jacques Kallis’ 44 ensuring victory. In the bronze-medal match, Chris Harris was crucial with both bat and ball, joint top-scoring with unbeaten 56 before taking 2/20 (7.4) in a 51-run victory.

(Inputs from IANS)

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.