Updated News Around the World

IPL 2023 Stat Attack: Total tally of 4s and 6s stands at over 3000! | Cricket News – Times of India

Just two matches left to play now in the 16th edition of the IPL. 4 time champions Chennai Super Kings await the winner of Qualifier 2, which will be played between the defending champions the Gujarat Titans and 5 time champions, the Mumbai Indians.
This season has once again seen a barrage of runs, as well as great bowling performances. Needless to say, a number of records have been broken and the record books re-written.
Did you know that KKR’s Rinku Singh has hit the most number of sixes while chasing in IPL 2023? Or that the Mumbai Indians are now the first team to score 200-plus totals six times in an IPL season?
TimesofIndia.com here takes a look at some of the most interesting statistics so far of IPL 2023:


Akash Madhwal (ANI Photo)
# In the eliminator at Chepauk, Chennai on May 24, Akash Madhwal produced his career-best bowling performance in Twenty20. He also became the first bowler to bag a five-wicket haul in a playoff match in the IPL.
# Madhwal’s performance of 5 for 5 is not only the best by any bowler in this IPL but also the best against Gujarat Titans, outstripping the 5 for 25 by Umran Malik for Sunrisers at Wankhede Stadium on April 27, 2022.
# Both Anil Kumble (5 for 5 for Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals at Cape Town on April 18, 2009) and Madhwal now share a record for the best bowling figures by an Indian bowler in the IPL.
# Akash Madhwal has become the third bowler to bag a five-wicket haul in this IPL -the first two being Mark Wood – 5 for 14 for Lucknow Super Giants vs Delhi Capitals at Lucknow on April 1 and 5 for 30 by Bhuvneshwar Kumar for Sunrisers vs Gujarat Titans at Ahmedabad on May 15.

cricket man2

# A record of most 200-plus totals has been established in this IPL – 35. The same is not likely to be surpassed easily. The tally includes eight totals while chasing successfully – another IPL record – four times by Mumbai Indians, one each by Kolkata, Lucknow, Punjab and Sunrisers.
# Fifteen matches in this edition have witnessed totals of 400-plus – an all-time record. Four times at Mumbai (WS), twice each at Bengaluru, Chennai, Kolkata & Mohali and once at Jaipur, Ahmedabad and Dharamsala.
# Twelve matches have witnessed totals of 200-plus by both the teams, obliterating the five in 2022.


# With 26 wickets at 17.38 runs apiece in fifteen matches, Mohammed Shami is the top wicket-taker in this IPL. His tally includes two four-wicket hauls.
# Rashid Khan, with 25 wickets at 19.00 runs apiece in fifteen matches, including a four-wicket haul, is second on the list of bowlers with most wickets.
# With two matches to go, Faf du Plessis, with 730 runs at an average of 56.15 with a strike rate of 153.68, in fifteen innings, is still the leading run-getter in this IPL.
# Faf du Plessis hit 36 sixes in fourteen innings – the most by a batter in this IPL.
# Among the seven batters with 500-plus runs in this IPL, Suryakumar Yadav’s strike rate of 183.78 is the highest – his aggregate being 544 at 41.84 in fifteen innings, including a hundred and four fifties.
# Rinku hit 29 sixes – the most by a KKR batter in this IPL. His tally includes twenty two sixes while chasing – the most by any batter in the present competition.


# du Plessis has registered eight fifties while Kohli has recorded two hundreds and six fifties. Their tallies of eight fifty-plus knocks each are the most by any batter in this edition of the IPL.
# Mumbai Indians’ total of 218 for five – their best ever in this IPL – is the highest by any team against Gujarat Titans in the IPL, outstripping the 207 for seven by KKR at Ahmedabad on April 9, 2023.
# Mumbai Indians have become the first team to register six totals of 200-plus in an IPL season – twice vs Punjab & one each vs Rajasthan Royals, Bangalore, Gujarat Titans and Sunrisers.
# Four out of six 200-plus totals in successful chases accomplished by Mumbai Indians is a record for any team in an IPL season.
# Mumbai Indians, with 201 for six vs Punjab on April 22; 214 for four vs Rajasthan on April 30; 200 for four vs RCB on May 9; 218 for five vs Gujarat on May 12 and 201 for two vs Sunrisers on May 21 – all at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai in this IPL, have become the first team to post five 200-plus totals at a venue in a T20 tournament.


# Shubman Gill (101 for Gujarat at Ahmedabad on May 15), Virat Kohli (100 for RCB at Hyderabad on May 18) and Cameron Green (100 not out for Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai On May 21) recorded hundreds vs Sunrisers in this IPL. SRH became the first team to concede a hundred each in three consecutive IPL matches.
# For the first time in the history of the IPL, eleven hundreds have been registered – Shubman Gill (two), Virat Kohli (two), Harry Brook, Venkatesh Iyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Prabhsimran Singh, Heinrich Klaasen and Cameron Green.
# Virat Kohli has established a record for most hundreds in the IPL (7), outstripping the six by Chris Gayle.
# 1085 sixes have been hit so far in this IPL – an all-time record in an IPL season, outstripping the 1062 sixes hit in 2022.

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-27 at 12.08.31.

# 3193 boundaries have been hit (2108 fours and 1085 sixes) so far in this IPL – an all-time record in an IPL season, obliterating the 3079 (2017 fours and 1062 sixes).
# Partnership run-aggregate of 939 managed in fourteen innings by Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis at an average of 67.07, including three stands of 100-plus and five of 50-plus, for the first wicket, emulating an all-time record by any pair in an IPL season. Kohli and AB de Villiers had amassed 939 runs (ave 78.25), including a hundred and five fifties, in thirteen innings for RCB in IPL 2016.
Stats Courtesy: Rajesh Kumar

window.TimesApps = window.TimesApps || {}; var TimesApps = window.TimesApps; TimesApps.toiPlusEvents = function(config) { var isConfigAvailable = "toiplus_site_settings" in f && "isFBCampaignActive" in f.toiplus_site_settings && "isGoogleCampaignActive" in f.toiplus_site_settings; var isPrimeUser = window.isPrime; if (isConfigAvailable && !isPrimeUser) { loadGtagEvents(f.toiplus_site_settings.isGoogleCampaignActive); loadFBEvents(f.toiplus_site_settings.isFBCampaignActive); } else { var JarvisUrl="https://jarvis.indiatimes.com/v1/feeds/toi_plus/site_settings/643526e21443833f0c454615?db_env=published"; window.getFromClient(JarvisUrl, function(config){ if (config) { loadGtagEvents(config?.isGoogleCampaignActive); loadFBEvents(config?.isFBCampaignActive); } }) } }; })( window, document, 'script', );

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.