Updated News Around the World

NASCAR lineup at COTA: Starting order, pole for Sunday’s race with qualifying

NASCAR is conducting qualifying sessions during its next two racing weekends. The first session was Sunday morning at Circuit of the Americas (COTA) near Austin, Texas.

On-track qualifying is a rarity this season; NASCAR decided to limit the amount of time teams needed to spend at the track amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Only eight races will have practice and qualifying in 2021, and they’ll take place only at new tracks on the schedule, such as COTA, or for premier events, such as the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Memorial Day weekend.

And while teams will be able to test their cars on COTA’s 3.41-mile road course prior to the Echo Park Texas Grand Prix, they won’t have much time to study the data from it. The race is scheduled to begin about two hours after qualifying.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set with qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Circuit of the Americas.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at COTA?

Tyler Reddick won the pole on Sunday, his first pole in 52 career starts. Because NASCAR is running for the first time at the Circuit of the Americas, he also set the course record at 2:12.911. He beat Kyle Larson for the pole position by .1 seconds.

NASCAR starting lineup at COTA

Start pos. Driver Car No. Time Team
1 Tyler Reddick 8 2:12.911 Richard Childress Racing
2 Kyle Larson 5 2:13.011 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Austin Cindric 33 2:13.697 Team Penske
4 Kyle Busch 18 2:13.708 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 William Byron 24 2:13.760 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Joey Logano 22 2:13.791 Team Penske
7 A.J. Allmendinger 16 2:13.842 Kaulig Racing
8 Chase Elliott 9 2:14.117 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Ryan Blaney 12 2:14.518 Team Penske
10 Christopher Bell 20 2:14.548 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kevin Harvick 4 2:14.792 Stewart-Haas Racing
12 Alex Bowman 48 2:14.894 Hendrick Motorsports
13 Kurt Busch 1 2:14.708 Chip Ganassi Racing
14 Cole Custer 41 2:15.025 Stewart-Haas Racing
15 Daniel Suarez 99 2:15.118 Trackhouse Racing Team
16 Austin Dillon 3 2:15.325 Richard Childress Racing
17 Martin Truex Jr. 17 2:15.375 Joe Gibbs Racing
18 Bubba Wallace 23 2:15.416 23XI Racing
19 Denny Hamlin 11 2:15.528 Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Ross Chastain 42 2:15.685 Chip Ganassi Racing
21 Matt DiBenedetto 21 2:15.852 Wood Brothers Racing
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 2:15.852 JTG Daugherty Racing
23 Michael McDowell 34 2:15.902 Front Row Motorsports
24 Brad Keselowski 2 2:15.929 Team Penske
25 Corey LaJoie 7 2:16.245 Spire Motorsports
26 Aric Almirola 10 2:16.558 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Chase Briscoe 14 2:16.686 Stewart-Haas Racing
28 Chris Buescher 17 2:16.728 Roush Fenway Racing
29 Erik Jones 43 2:17.032 Richard Petty Motorsports
30 Justin Haley 77 2:17.051 Spire Motorsports
31 Josh Bilicki 52 2:17.246 Rick Ware Racing
32 James Davison 15 2:17.563 Rick Ware Racing
33 Ty Dillon 96 2:17.682 Gaunt Brothers Racing
34 Ryan Newman 6 2:18.067 Roush Fenway Racing
35 Cody Ware 51 2:18.194 Petty Ware Racing
36 Ryan Preece 37 2:18.252 JTG Daugherty Racing
37 Anthony Alfredo 38 2:18.701 Front Row Motorsports
38 Garrett Smithley 53 2:18.804 Rick Ware Racing
39 Kyle Tilley 78 2:20.361 Live Fast Motorsports
40 Quin Houff 00 2:20.985 StarCom Racing

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.