Updated News Around the World

National under-23 championships, Chandigarh | Animesh Kujur betters own 200m record

National under-23 championships, Chandigarh | Animesh Kujur betters own 200m record

Odisha’s Animesh Kujur – who clocked a personal best 20.74s at the recent National Open in Bengaluru which was the sixth-best time in the Indian all-time list maintained by World Athletics – broke his own 200m meet record at the third National Open under-23 athletics championships here on Sunday. The 20-year-old clocked 20.87s.

Tamil Nadu’s Tamil Arasu (10.54s) and Mariya Nivetha (11.79s) emerged as the fastest man and woman respectively by winning the 100m on Saturday. Gujarat’s 20-year-old Sunil Joliya Jinabhai bettered his personal best by more than 10s while claiming the men’s 3000m steeple chase in 8:39.98s.

The results (winners only):

Men: 200m: Animesh Kujur (Odi) 20.87s MR, OR own 21.12. 1500m: Shivam Sharma (HP) 3:43.85s. 5000m: Shadab Pathan (Mah) 14:06.10s MR, OR 14:13.92. 400m hurdles: Keshav Tanwar (Del) 51.79s. Long jump: Asadullah Mujahith (TN) 7.67m. High jump: Md Ashraf Ali (WB) 2.15m MR, OR 2.13. Javelin throw: Yashvir Singh (Raj) 78.12m MR, OR 76.79. Hammer throw: Nitesh Poonia (Raj) 64.38m.

Women: 200m: Chelimi (A) 24.15s. 1500M: Nikita Sharma (HP) 4:27.50s. 5000m: Neha Panwar (UP) 16:50.03s. 400M hurdles: Ramandeep Kaur (Pun) 1:00.90s. Long jump: Kusuma Ravada (AP) 6.09m. Javelin throw: Jyoti (Har) 52.77m MR, OR 51.07. Heptathlon: Sonu Kumari (Har) 5008 pts MR, OR 4910.

Saturday’s events:

Men: 100m: S. Tamil Arasu (TN) 10.54s. 400m: Rince Joseph (Ker) 46.91s. 800m: Satyajeet Suresh Pujari (Mah) 1:51.94s. 110m hurdles: Tejas Shirse (Mah) 13.71s MR, OR own 14.12. 3000m steeple chase: Sunil Joliya Jinabhai (Guj) 8:39.98s MR, OR 8:49.13. 20,000m race walk: Sanjay Kumar (Raj) 1:28:53.92s. Discus throw: Dinesh Kumar 53.66m MR, OR 53.27. Shot put: Dhanvir Singh (Pun) 19.56m MR, OR 17.79. Decathlon: Kushal Kumar (Mah) 6809 pts.

Women: 100m: Mariya Nivetha (TN) 11.79s. 400m: Simarjeet Kaur (Pun) 54.41s. 800m: Urvashi (Har) 2:08.80s. 100m hurdles: Moumita Mondal (WB) 13.65s MR, OR 13.72. 3000m steeple chase: Bhagwati Deora (Raj) 10:48.40s. 20,000m race walk: Sejal Anil Singh (Mah) 1:37:53.71s. High jump: Payal Jamod (Guj) 1,72m. Pole vault: G. Sindhushree (Kar) 3.75m. Discus throw: Anisha (Del) 47.60m.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.