Updated News Around the World

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Tamil Nadu beat Chhattisgarh by 14 runs | Cricket News – Times of India

BENGALURU: Tamil Nadu defeated Chhattisgarh by 14 runs for their second win in Group C in the Vijay Hazare Trophy here on Tuesday.
Sent into bat by the opposition captain Harpreet Singh Bhatia, TN openers B Sai Sudharsan (121, 109 balls, 10 fours, 4 sixes) and N Jagadeesan (107, 113 balls, 10 fours, 2 sixes) put on 233 in 34.5 overs. The duo played some superb shots and sent the Chhattisgarh bowlers on a leather hunt.
Though the Tamil Nadu innings stuttered after the exit of Sudharsan and Jagadeesan, M Shahrukh Khan (28, 27 balls, 1 fours, 1 six) and B Aparajith (36, 19 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes) provided the flourish towards the end as they finished at 340 for six in 50 overs.
Up against a mammoth target, both the Chhattisgarh openers were back in the pavilion with the score at 38. However, skipper Harpreet Singh (121, 129 balls, 11 fours, 2 sixes) and Amandeep Khare (115, 99 balls, 5 fours, 5 sixes) mounted a superb fightback, adding 214 runs in 199 balls to keep the team in the hunt.
The dismissals of Bhatia, who fell to J Kousik (2/52) and Khare to R Sonu Yadav (3/47) pegged Chhattisgarh back. The rest of the batters could not rise to the challenge and the team eventually fell short by 14 runs.
In another match, Andhra trounced Arunachal Pradesh by 261 runs with Abhishek Reddy (136) and skipper K S Bharat (100) playing key roles and Kerala scored over Goa thanks to Rohan Kunnummal‘s superb 134.
Brief scores:
Tamil Nadu 340 for 6 in 50 overs (B Sai Sudharsan 121, N Jagadeesan 107, B Aparajith 36, M Shahrukh Khan 28, Ravi Kiran 3/69) beat Chhattisgarh 326 for 8 in 50 overs (Harpreet Singh Bhatia 121 (129 balls, 11X4, 2X6), Amandeep Singh 115 (99 balls, 5X4, 5X6), R Sonu Yadav 3/47) by 14 runs. TN: 4 points, Chhattisgarh: 0.
Andhra 367 for 3 in 50 overs (Abhishek Reddy 136 (133 balls, 11X4, 4X6), K S Bharat 100 (84 balls, 7X4, 2X6), Ashwin Hebbar 60, K Nitish Kumar Reddy 38 (15 balls, 1X4, 4X6) beat Arunachal Pradesh 106 all out in 38 overs (B Ayyappa 3 for 15) by 261 runs. Andhra: 4 points, Arunachal: 0.
Goa 241 for 8 in 50 overs (Darshan Misal 69, Suyash S Prabhudessai 34, Deepraj Gaonkar 32, Akhil Scaria 3/34) lost to Kerala 242 for 5 in 38.1 overs (Rohan Kunnumal 134 (101 balls, 17X4, 4X6), Sachin Baby 51 not out (54 balls, 3X4, 1X6) by five wickets. Kerala: 4 points, Goa: 0.
Bihar 158 all out in 47.5 overs (Sachin Kumar 33, Raghuvendra Pratap Singh 31, Jayant Yadav 3/26, Nishant Sindhu 3/34) lost to Haryana 159 for 1 in 22.2 overs (Himanshu Rana 101 not out (57 balls, 12X4, 3X6), Yuvraj Singh 32 not out) by nine wickets. Haryana: 4 points, Bihar: 0.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.