Updated News Around the World

Formula 1 qualifying results: Starting grid for 2021 Monaco Grand Prix

The stage for the 2021 Monaco Grand Prix is set. 

Originally scheduled to start Sunday from the first grid box, the Ferrari driver had issues with his gearbox entering the GP, forcing him into an incredibly unfortunate DNS.

Verstappen had an opportunity to upend Leclerc at the end of the session before Leclerc’s untimely crash to red flag the session.

In all, seven different teams are represented in the top 10 heading into Sunday’s return to Monte Carlo, the first time the race is being run since that 2019 season.

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Monaco, as always, is one of the trickiest, most exciting tracks to navigate during the F1 season. Free practice sessions before qualifying proved just that, with several wrecks happening over the course of the three practice sessions. Mick Schumacher wiped out in Practice 3, the only driver who didn’t post a quali lap entering Sunday.

Here’s how they’ll line up on Sunday for F1’s marquee event:

Formula 1 starting lineup for 2021 Monaco Grand Prix

After Leclerc had issues with his gearbox, he will not start Sunday’s race after morning issues. He secured pole position on Saturday, but mechanical issues forced him out prior to the start on Sunday.

Max Verstappen, starting from second, will pace the pack.

Position Driver (Team)
1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
5. Lando Norris (McLaren)
6. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
7. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
8. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
9. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
10. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
11. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
12. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
13. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
14. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
15. George Russell (Williams)
16. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
17. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
18. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
19. Nikita Mazepin (Haas)
DNQ Mick Schumacher (Haas)

What channel is the F1 race on Sunday?

  • Race: Monaco Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, May 23, 2021
  • TV channel: ESPN
  • Live stream: WatchESPN, fuboTV

The ESPN family of networks will broadcast all 2021 F1 races in the United States using Sky Sports’ feed, with a few races heading to ABC later in the season.

In addition, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2021 F1 races in the U.S.

What time does the F1 race start on Sunday?

  • Date: Sunday, May 23
  • Start time: 9 a.m. ET

The 9 a.m. ET start time for Sunday’s race means the 2021 Monaco GP will start at 3:00 p.m. local time. The on-the-hour start time means lights out will likely take place around just after 9 a.m. ESPN’s pre-race show usually airs in the hour prior to the start of the race.

Below is the complete TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the Monaco GP. All times are Eastern.

Date Event Time TV channel
Thursday, May 20 Practice 1 5:30 a.m. ESPNU
Thursday, April 20 Practice 2 9 a.m. ESPNU
Saturday, May 22 Practice 3 6 a.m. ESPN2
Saturday, May 22 Qualifying 9 a.m. ESPN2
Sunday, May 23 Race 9 a.m. ESPN

Formula 1 live stream for Monaco Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four major OTT TV streaming options that carry ESPN — fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.Formula 1 live stream for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Below are links to each.

For those who do have a cable or satellite subscription but are not in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2021 can be streamed live via phones, tablets and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 schedule 2021

Formula 1 returns in 2021 with a zaftig 23 race schedule, starting with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28, and concluding with the customary Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Dec. 12.

The Canadian GP would be canned as the country continues to wrangle coronavirus issues, with F1 adding the Styrian GP in its stead. The French GP moves up a week.

The Portuguese Grand Prix returns for its second-consecutive running after a 22-year absence. Also making its debut this year is the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix taking pace on the Jeddah Street Circuit, scheduled for December.

All times Eastern.

Date Race Course Start time TV channel Winner
March 28 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 11 a.m. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
April 18 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari 9 a.m. TBD Max Verstappen, Red Bull
May 2 Portuguese Grand Prix Algarve International Circuit 10 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
May 9 Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya 9 a.m. ESPN Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
May 23 Monaco Grand Prix Circuit de Monaco 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
June 6 Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit 8 a.m. ESPN TBD
June 13 French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
June 27 Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9 a.m. ESPN TBD
July 4 Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring 9 a.m. ESPN TBD
July 18 British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit 10 a.m. ESPN TBD
Aug. 1 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9 a.m. ESPN TBD
Aug. 29 Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 5 Dutch Grand Prix Circuit Zandvoort 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 12 Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale di Monza 9 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Sept. 26 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom 8 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Oct. 3 Singapore Grand Prix Marina Bay Street Circuit 8 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Oct. 10 Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Course 1 a.m. ESPN2 TBD
Oct. 24 United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas 3 p.m. ABC TBD
Oct. 31 Mexico City Grand Prix Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 3 p.m. ABC TBD
Nov. 7 Brazilian Grand Prix Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace Noon ESPN2 TBD
Nov. 21 Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Circuit 1 a.m. ESPN News TBD
Dec. 5 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Jeddah Street Circuit 11 p.m. ESPN2 TBD
Dec. 12 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit 8 a.m. ESPN2 TBD

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! NewsUpdate is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.